[Hanoi] My favorite dishes in Nha 9NKC

We arrived Nha 9NKC after long walk around Hoan Kiem Lake and Opera House. Despite my tiredness and hunger for food, I must say I was impressed with vintage decor and vibe of this restaurant. However, because of the noise from guests, I could not fully feel the atmosphere. It was full of young local people on 1st and 2nd floors, tables by tables, with nice tea pots and beautiful cakes. We were lucky to find seats in the hallway of 2nd floor.

In a menu of Western dishes, English-style tea set, and cakes, Vietnamese food was truly hidden gem. We decided to try Banh Hoi Bo La Lot over Banh Hoi Thit Nuong.

“Banh hoi” is a Vietnamese specialty dish, steamed thin rice vermicelli noodles, and seasoned with fried green onions. It was served with “Bo La Lot” beef wrapped in wild betel leaves (Vietnamese lolot leaves). Dipping sauce was Mam Nem (kind of fish sauce with thính – a powder made from toasted rice, pineapple and sugar). My complaint was the beef should be in long and thin shape, so it would be easier to wrap in rice paper!

Lychee Juice
Lychee Juice

However, my favorite dish on that day, was Lychee Juice! It was new item in the menu, and I felt thankful that I chose it. Light, sweet, fresh and cool ~ lychee juice ~ white foam like cloud.

3 Flavors of Creme Brulee
3 Flavors of Creme Brulee

Another notable choice was three flavors creme brulee: vanilla, matcha, and passion fruit. Two flavors matcha and passion fruit were really creative and tasty!

Price: Banh Hoi Bo La Lot = 100,000 VND for 2 people. It was considerably high comparing with normal Banh Hoi Bo La Lot.

Overall: food was not exceptionally good, and the price was high. My friend personally thinks it was acceptable price if I counted the atmosphere, design, and service, however, I think it was too much for me.

I would come back to try Western dishes here, like Foie Gras, duck confit, duck breast, fettuccine, etc. They look promising.

Nha Restaurant
9 Nguyen Khac Can, Hoan Kiem district, Hanoi.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

