[Hanoi] Late Supper in An Unusual Winter Night

Pho Bo Sot Vang (Pho with Vietnamese Beef Stew)

My little sister “scolded” me yesterday because of my laziness. Therefore, I promised myself that I will put more effort in writing this year! Here we go, let’s start the first post of 2015 with a creative Pho, my favorite one, Pho Bo Sot Vang (Pho with Vietnamese Beef Stew)

During nearly 100-year of French colonization, culture of Vietnam was influenced and adapted a lot, in architecture, literature, art, plays, language, and cuisine.

I’m not expert in other fields, however, thanks to my Grandpa, I know some common words that Vietnamese has “transformed” from French, especially from imported things to Vietnam, such as bicycle parts, food, Western clothes, : pédale (pê-đan), poupée (búp bê), frein (phanh), essence (xăng), vin (vang), fromage (pho mát), clé (cờ lê), molette (mỏ lết), béton (bê tông), coffre (cốp), porte-bagage (bọt ba ga), chemise (sơ mi), rodage (rốt đa), timbre (tem), banderole (băng rôn), savon (xà bông), pourboire (boa)….

Well, that’s all for my language show-off 😉 Let’s go back to the food!

Bo Sot Vang, is similar to many French beef stew (like beef bourguignon), this dish also has red wine base, but the spice and seasoning have changed significantly to adapt to local taste. Instead of herbs like parsley, rosemary or thyme, we use warm spices like cinnamon, star anise or cardamom. It is often served with bread here.

Pho with Vietnamese Beef Stew (Pho Bo Sot Vang) is a creative combination of famous Pho and Sot Vang, the broth is a bit different from traditional Pho broth, stronger and richer flavor. I often have Pho Sot Vang in a small Beef Pho stall on the corner of Tong Duy Tan and Tran Phu street, near the railway.
Address: No.3 Tran Phu street. It is opened 22 hours per day and divided into 3 shifts. The lady owner, who has sold Pho for many years, has 2 daughters and 1 daughter-in-law. Currently, each of them is in charge one shift: from 5pm to 2am, from 2am to 9am, from 9am to 3pm. I think its peak period is from evening till 2-3am. Price range is 35.000-50.000 VND ~ $1.7 – $2.5 (mine was 45,000 VND with soft boiled egg).

Other pictures of Pho from that railway Pho stall.

Pho Bo Tai Chin
Pho Bo Tai Chin

Pho Bo Tai Chin: Pho served with beef cooked rare and well-done brisket

Trung Tran (Soft Boiled Egg)
Trung Tran (Soft Boiled Egg)

Soft Boiled Egg, No Poking Please! 😉

Perfect hot and smoky and flavorful late brunch for a 12-degree-Celsius night, with small rain. The weather reminded me about Tet. Lunar New Year is coming to town!

P.S: I will be back with some spots for Bo Sot Vang with bread in Hanoi! (Trying to set goal for my laziness, lol).

Check my Pho Maps in Hanoi for other places of chicken pho or beef pho.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

